RCSCW board election canceled, 3 candidates named to board

By Diana Wenners
Special to Independent Newsmedia

Because the Recreation Centers of Sun City West has exactly three candidates for three open positions on the Governing Board next fiscal year, there is no need for an election in March.

The deadline to submit petitions for candidacy to run for the Board was Jan. 2. Three candidates submitted paperwork by the deadline. Barbara Senefeld, George Kuchtyak and Jim Young will be seated on the board July 1.

They will join continuing directors Jim Sloan, Marion Mosley, Dean Cross, Tim Hurley, Bob Garrett and Bryan Walus. Terms for President Peggy Robbins and directors Vivien Wallis and Ed Van Cott end June 30.

The rec centers is served by a nine-member volunteer governing board. Each year, three new directors are elected to three-year terms.

Call 623-544-6115.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.