Opinions with Civility
Latest Opinions
You might think that you have to be a teacher to work in a school, but schools actually offer an extremely wide variety of job opportunities to the community.
Join us in honoring our service men and women at the 8th annual city of Surprise Veterans Day Parade on Friday, November 11.
The city is gathering feedback from residents about the programs and services they would like to see in the future Multigenerational Community Resource Center.
On Friday, October 7, I joined Larry Tabloff, General Manager of Toyota of Surprise, in presenting Surprise business owner Mario Rodarte with a new Tacoma.
West Valley Opinions
The recent announcement that the City of Surprise will assume operations of its three libraries, (rather than contracting that service through Maricopa County) has spurred some questions from residents about funding, programming and general library operations.
On Tuesday, October 18, Vice Mayor Cline and I joined Branch Manager Mia Brooks and her team in celebrating the grand opening of their new WaFd Bank in Surprise.
On Friday, October 21, Mayor Hall, Vice Mayor Aly Cline, Council Member Winters and I joined Tap House Sports Grill for a Ribbon Cutting event.
In your recent article, “Candidates square off at election forum” in the Oct. 12 Surprise Independent, your choice of accompanying photos was not “independent.”
I am opposed to Kroger purchasing Alberston’s and Safeway.
East Valley Opinions
Your Community Your Voice
Aly Cline

Aly Cline: District 2 Newsletter — November 2022

On Saturday, October 8, Councilmember Winters, Councilmember Remley and I attended Fiesta Grande 2022 in the Original Town Site on Hollyhock Street.
Dr. Kevin Rodriguez, MD, is a physician at Abrazo hospitals.

Abrazo ER doctor offers Halloween safety tips

Children and parents look forward to Halloween. Selecting costumes and treats are part of the preparations, but remember safety and healthy choices as part of your planning.
Ken Remley

Ken Remley: District 4 Newsletter — October 2022

Join us for Surprise Fiesta Grande on Oct. 8.

Skip Hall: Mayor Newsletter — October 2022

On Monday, September 19, we joined founder Karin York as she received Congressional Recognition from Congresswoman Debbie Lesko’s office for Spencer’s Place.
Patrick Duffy

Patrick Duffy: District 3 Newsletter — October 2022

On Monday, September 19, we joined founder Karin York as she received Congressional Recognition from Congresswoman Debbie Lesko’s office for Spencer’s Place. The coffee bistro provides adults …
Aly Cline

Aly Cline: District 2 Newsletter — October 2022

On Monday, Sept. 19, Mayor Hall and I joined AAA Mountain West Group Surprise for a ribbon cutting event.
Chris Judd

Chris Judd: District 6 Newsletter — October 2022

On Monday, Sept. 19, we joined founder Karin York as she received a Congressional Recognition from Congresswoman Debbie Lesko’s office for Spencer’s Place.
Jack Hastings

Jack Hastings: District 5 Newsletter — October 2022

The Xeriscape Demonstration Garden had its official ribbon cutting on Saturday, Sept. 17.
Jim Dean

Jim Dean: It’s best to work together

Oftentimes in our world today it is common practice to turn to social media to get our questions answered, problems solved, or to air our concerns.

Letters: Surprise transit issues are a huge mess

It’s hard to understand why the governor would have vetoed the extension [Re: “Prop. 400 extension is key to growth,” Sept. 14]. Will we get our half cent back if it doesn’t go through? Right?
Christine Pritchard

Pritchard: Board president fights through anger, 'agendas'

On May 5, driven by anger and very personal agendas, an application for the Recall of myself and Ms. Chrystal Chaffin was filed with the Maricopa County superintendent of schools to invalidate the voices of our Dysart community members by canceling their 2020 vote through a recall election.

Letters: Wyyerd story didn’t tell whole picture

I enjoyed reading the very rosy picture the Surprise Independent painted about Wyyerd and the new fiber optic network.
Merrill Edelstein

Edelstein: Final farewell from the arts scene

The summer is slowly drawing to a close as kids are back in school and temperatures are coming down.
John Williams

John Williams: It’s easy to be a volunteer for Dysart

It’s easy to become pessimistic about the state of the world and division of the community today.
Patrick Duffy

Patrick Duffy: District 3 Newsletter — September 2022

Village at Prasada’s restaurant row, Street Faire at Alexandria, will be adding two new restaurants, Lou Malnati’s Pizzeria and Cold Beers & Cheeseburgers.
Aly Cline

Aly Cline: District 2 Newsletter — September 2022

Valley Metro’s RideChoice program, which offers discounted transportation options for eligible riders, has been expanded to allow more access for Surprise residents.
Chris Judd

Chris Judd: District 6 Newsletter — September 2022

On Tuesday, August 24, we joined Epic UTV for a Ribbon Cutting event.
Jack Hastings

Jack Hastings: District 5 Newsletter — September 2022

The City of Surprise Fire Medical Department will be opening recruitment for multiple positions from August through September.

Everything you wanted to know about the World Series … but were afraid to ask

Imagine you’re at an outdoor dinner party (yes, COVID-friendly). It’s October, and the conversation steers towards the World Series. While you are generally culturally literate, you know …

Christensen: Health literacy more important than ever for Arizonans in ongoing COVID-19 crisis

The ongoing COVID-19 pandemic has impacted millions across the country, and Arizona has not been spared. This virus and its resulting economic fallout have put a harsh spotlight on rising health care …
Thank You For Supporting Local Journalism