Coyotes’ nominate Ekman-Larsson for NHL humanitarian award

Coyotes defenseman Oliver Ekman-Larsson, right, picks up the puck as Colorado Avalanche center Carl Soderberg pursues in the first period of an NHL hockey game Friday, March 29 in Denver. [AP Photo/David Zalubowski]

Coyotes defenseman Oliver Ekman-Larsson is the team’s nominee for the 2018-19 King Clancy Memorial Trophy, which is awarded “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”

The 31 nominees were selected by their respective NHL clubs. The winner will be selected by a committee of senior NHL executives led by Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly. The selection committee will apply the following criteria in determining the finalists and winner of the King Clancy Memorial Trophy:

  • Clear and measurable positive impact on the community

  • Investment of time and resources

  • Commitment to a particular cause or community

  • Commitment to the League’s community initiatives (Hockey is for Everyone, Hockey Fights Cancer, Future Goals, Learn to Play, NHL Green, etc.)

  • Creativity of programming

  • Use of influence; engagement of others

The three finalists for the 2018-19 King Clancy Memorial Trophy will be announced on Tuesday, April 23, and the winner will be revealed at the 2019 NHL Awards Wednesday, June 19 at Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas.

The first-place finisher will receive a $40,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of the winner’s choice and the two runners-up will each receive a $5,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of their choice.

About Ek

Ekman-Larsson is heavily involved in volunteering with the local Boys & Girls Club. Last summer, the 26-year old Swede partnered with the Arizona Coyotes Foundation to donate $125,000 to the Boys & Girls Club of Greater Scottsdale. Ekman-Larsson has been named the Coyotes “Man of the Year” for the past three years. The award is for “dedication, commitment and passion for bettering the lives of those in the community.”

No Coyote has ever won the King Clancy Memorial Award since its start in 1988.

On the ice, Ekman-Larsson was named the Coyotes captain this season. He was second on the team with 44 points — behind Clayton Keller’s 47 — and was on the ice more than any other skater. The Coyotes fell four points shy of their first trip to the playoffs since 2012.

Former Coyote Max Domi, now on the Montreal Canadiens, was also nominated for the King Clancy Memorial Award.


Anaheim Ducks: Cam Fowler

Arizona Coyotes: Oliver Ekman-Larsson

Boston Bruins: Zdeno Chara

Buffalo Sabres: Jack Eichel

Calgary Flames: Mark Giordano

Carolina Hurricanes: Justin Faulk

Chicago Blackhawks: Corey Crawford

Colorado Avalanche: Gabriel Landeskog

Columbus Blue Jackets: Nick Foligno

Dallas Stars: John Klingberg

Detroit Red Wings: Jimmy Howard

Edmonton Oilers: Leon Draisaitl

Florida Panthers: Roberto Luongo

Los Angeles Kings: Tyler Toffoli

Minnesota Wild: Jason Zucker

Montreal Canadiens: Max Domi

Nashville Predators: Pekka Rinne

New Jersey Devils: Kyle Palmieri

New York Islanders: Anders Lee

New York Rangers: Henrik Lundqvist

Ottawa Senators: Mark Borowiecki

Philadelphia Flyers: Claude Giroux

Pittsburgh Penguins: Matt Murray

San Jose Sharks: Brenden Dillon

St. Louis Blues: Ryan O’Reilly

Tampa Bay Lightning: Ryan Callahan

Toronto Maple Leafs: Zach Hyman

Vancouver Canucks: Alexander Edler

Vegas Golden Knights: Deryk Engelland

Washington Capitals: Tom Wilson

Winnipeg Jets: Bryan Little


The trophy was presented in 1988 by the National Hockey League Board of Governors in honor of Frank “King” Clancy, a beloved figure in the NHL for decades as a player, referee, coach, manager and goodwill ambassador. A three-time Stanley Cup champion and 1958 inductee to the Hockey Hall of Fame, Clancy was voted as one of the 100 Greatest NHL Players during the League’s Centennial Celebration in 2017.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.