Beginning Jan. 1, 2021, Arizona drivers using a mobile or electronic device while their vehicle is in motion will now be subject to a fine.
Arizona's hands-free law means: no texting, no holding a phone for calls (even speaker mode), no scrolling through social media and no recording videos. Drivers may use a hands-free device for phone calls or GPS.
RELATED: Survey: Teens use cell phones while driving despite the risk
The Peoria Police Department joined agencies around the state in a months-long education campaign warning drivers about the new law.
Only warnings have been issued until now.
Violations of this law can lead to a $75-$149 fine for the first offense and $150-$250 fine for the second offense.
Arizona's hands-free law went into effect last April.
Stay alive, don’t text and drive.