Scottsdale Charros celebrate 35th annual education awards

Posted 6/6/22

On April 22, the Scottsdale Charros hosted its annual Charros Education Awards, honoring local students and educators for stellar achievements and work during the past year.

The 2022 event marked …

This story requires a subscription for $5.99/month.

Already have an account? Log in to continue.

Current print subscribers can create a free account by clicking here.

Otherwise, click here to subscribe.

To Our Valued Readers –

Visitors to our website will be limited to five stories per month unless they opt to subscribe. The five stories do not include our exclusive content written by our journalists.

For $5.99, less than 20 cents a day, digital subscribers will receive unlimited access to, including exclusive content from our newsroom and access to our Daily Independent e-edition.

Our commitment to balanced, fair reporting and local coverage provides insight and perspective not found anywhere else.

Your financial commitment will help to preserve the kind of honest journalism produced by our reporters and editors. We trust you agree that independent journalism is an essential component of our democracy. Please click here to subscribe.

Charlene Bisson, Publisher, Independent Newsmedia

Please log in to continue

Log in

Subscribe to our e-newsletter for continued access

Free newsletter subscribers to the Daily Independent can enjoy free access to our AP stories, Capital Media Services, earned media and special contributors on our Opinions with Civility pages. If you aren’t a free newsletter subscriber yet, join now and continue accessing more content. This does not include our exclusive content written by the newsroom. We hope you’ll consider supporting our journalism.

I am anchor

Scottsdale Charros celebrate 35th annual education awards


On April 22, the Scottsdale Charros hosted its annual Charros Education Awards, honoring local students and educators for stellar achievements and work during the past year.

The 2022 event marked the first time in three years that the Scottsdale Unified School District community came together with the Charros to celebrate.

The 35th annual Education Awards was held at Scottsdale Stadium. The event begins in January, when principals from each of the schools select their school’s outstanding Educator of the Year. Additionally, high school principals select two outstanding students of the year from each school.

Scholarship winners:

  •  Educator of the Year: Janelle Hoffman
  •  Charros Future Teacher Scholarship winner: Molly Patterson, Desert Mountain High School
  •  Charros Future Teacher Scholarship winner: Christopher Yee, Saguaro High School
  •  SCC Scholarship winner: Ava Baylis, Saguaro High School
  •  First Responder Scholarship winner: Drew Hoster, Scottsdale Fire cadet
  •  First Responder Scholarship winner: Adham Rayyes, Scottsdale Police cadet

Students of the Year:

  •  Elsa Steen Koppell, Arcadia High School
  •  Luis Taquillo, Arcadia High School
  •  Kate McDowell, Chaparral High School
  •  Jeremy Lee, Chaparral High School
  •  Marley Lincoln, Coronado High School
  •  Victor De La Torre Guzman, Coronado High School
  •  Erica Keegan, Desert Mountain High School
  •  Jack Yampolsky, Desert Mountain High School
  •  Cydney Lowrie, Saguaro High School
  •  Colin Hutton, Saguaro High School
  •  Rio Trichler, Scottsdale Online Learning

Teachers of the Year

  •  Lindsey Denny, Anasazi Elementary School: 2nd Grade
  •  Zosha Darnell, Arcadia High School: World Languages
  •  Steve Millam, Chaparral High School: Science
  •  Nicole Kaiser, Cherokee Elementary School: 4th Grade
  •  Lindsey Saylor, Cheyenne Traditional School: Kindergarten
  •  Tarrin Schultz, Cheyenne Traditional School: Speech-Language Pathologist
  •  Maria Fossler, Cochise Elementary School: Kindergarten
  •  Fred Rabach, Cocopah Middle School: 8th Grade Math
  •  Daniel Chin, Copper Ridge School: Physical Education
  •  Sarah Johnson, Copper Ridge School: Kindergarten
  •  Alexis Smith, Coronado High School: English
  •  Curt Robinson, Desert Canyon Elementary School: 2nd Grade
  •  Kelsea Noone, Desert Canyon Middle School: 8th Grade Science/6th Grade Math for Success
  •  Liza Noriega, Desert Mountain High School: Dance
  •  Aimee Loferski, Echo Canyon School: 5th Grade
  •  Lisa Port, Echo Canyon School: Special Education Learning Resource Center
  •  Stacey Wojciechowski, Hohokam Elementary School: Title I Pre-K
  •  Amy Parker, Hopi Elementary School: 1st Grade
  •  Shalese Doan, Ingleside Middle School: English Language Arts and Reading Intervention
  •  Elizabeth Gardemann, Kiva Elementary School: Kindergarten
  •  Aimee White, Laguna Elementary School: 4th Grade
  •  Alicia Leung, Mohave Middle School: 8th Grade Math, College and Career Enhancement
  •  Ira Pincus, Mountainside Middle School: 6th and 7th Grade Language and Literature
  •  Julia Maisel, Navajo Elementary School: 5th Grade
  •  Debbie Miller, Pima Traditional School: 1st Grade
  •  Kerri Krist, Pueblo Elementary School: 1st Grade English
  •  Elizabeth Hindenburg, Redfield Elementary School: Special Education Learning Resource Center
  •  Anne Milligan, Saguaro High School: Chemistry
  •  Michelle Rich, Sequoya Elementary School: 5th Grade Math and English Language Arts
  •  Maria DeVenuto, Tavan Elementary School: 2nd Grade
  •  Madeline Agpoon, Tonalea K-8 School: Special Education Learning Resource Center
  •  Allison Hogue, Tonalea K-8 School: Orchestra
  •  Cortney Tagliaferri, Yavapai Elementary School: 2nd Grade
  •  Barb Wissmann, Scottsdale Online Learning: High School English and American Sign Language

The Scottsdale Charros is made up exclusively of men from the Scottsdale and Paradise Valley community. The group is an all-volunteer, nonprofit group of business and civic leaders. The organization was formed in 1961.

The Scottsdale Charros and The Charro Foundation, a 501(c)3 organization, works closely with SUSD to understand the needs of the district and schools.

Through this relationship, an Education Committee oversees the Charro’s initiatives. Their liaison program, the Charros and the Charro Foundation host events and fund grants and scholarships for SUSD. A handful of which are presented at the annual education banquet each year.

Check out photos below from the 35th Annual Charros Education Awards.

(All photos by Brian Goddard Photography) 

Scottsdale Charro, community member and local Realor, Gary Shapiro. 

Scottsdale Charro and Paradise Valley resident Rick Carpinelli greets a fellow member. 

Scottsdale Vice Mayor Tom Durham

Scottsdale Unified School District Governing Board President Julie Cieniawski. 

From left is Paradise Valley Town Councilman Mark Stanton, Charros Executive Director Dennis Robbins and Wayne Botkin. 

Scottsdale Mayor David Ortega, second from left, pictured with Future Teacher Scholarship recipient Christopher Yee, in center, with his family. Pictured on left is First Lady of Scottsdale, Rosemary Ortega. 

Former Mayor Jim "W.J." Lane, on right, with longtime Scottsdale employee and Lane's chief of staff, Rachel Smetana. 

Future Teacher Scholarship winners Christopher Yee, on left, and Molly Patterson. 

Student of the Year Rio Trichler. 

Scottsdale community members Lisa Borowsky, on left, with Melinda Gulick. 

Scottsdale Unified School District Superintendent Dr. Scott Menzel.

Scottsdale Charros Executive Director Dennis Robbins.
Scottsdale Charros, SUSD, Scottsdale Unified School District, Charros Education Awards,


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here